Competitions · Poetry

The poem that made me stand 1st at my college in Poetry competition :)


“The Years That Are No More”

In the cold and scary night
With the dark and chill sight
And the loneliness all around
Shivering with a soft sound
A whimper that is heard
Cannot be explained in one word
It is all about my past
The one that went very fast
But has left some marks on my face
Making some stains and a dark trace
On my heart, on my mind
Turning me to color blind.
The colors of beauty
Were snatched with cruelty
By a mortal of this world- inhumane
Black, filthy, dark and insane
the torture is still found
In my soul, in my every sound
And this is not the only thing
I have even suffered in the spring
When innocence was on its height
And my childhood was full of delight
A sudden storm came in my life
That fully cut me with a knife
Of torture, of suffering
And I, senseless, just staring
Those were the painful days
With some sparkling, shiny rays
The years are although no more
But has left behind an open door…

Arsh Azim

4 thoughts on “The poem that made me stand 1st at my college in Poetry competition :)

Share your opinion because it matters here

