Books · My Photography

The Forty Rules of Love-Book Review

iClick by Arsh
iClick by Arsh

One of the amazing books I’ve read, in my whole life. Finished reading it yesterday and Yes, this book has become my inspiration finally and I am proud of what I chose!

Starting with the story of Ella, a mother of three living happily with her husband David, she is told to write a review on an unpublished book “Sweet Blasphemy” that changes her life and she gets to know what true love is. Sweet Blasphemy tells the story of Shams of Tabriz- a wandering dervish and Rumi- a well known scholar of his times who never was a poet but becomes one.

The book explains the forty rules of the religion of love that Shams leaves in his time and enriches the people around with his enlightening thoughts. Though, it’s one tragic story but true love has been depicted by the author Elif Shafak that tells the brief history of how Shams of Tabriz and Rumi became one. Sharing one of the poems from the book here, I must say, it’s one of the best books I’ve read in my whole life. Spiritual, lovely, and truly mystical. Full of rich Islamic history and Sufism. Highly recommended!

Did God set grapes a-growing, do you think,
And at the same time make it a sin to drink?

Give thanks to Him who foreordained it thus–
Surely He loved to hear the glasses clink!

Drink! For you know not whence you came, nor why;
Drink! For you know knot why you go, nor where.

-The forty Rules of Love

-A

6 thoughts on “The Forty Rules of Love-Book Review

    1. I’m glad that the readers are waiting for the rules I’ve started 🙂 I actually want them to be great and it really needs proper time and mood to write something good. But this Tuesday I hope I come up with something inshaa Allah. I’ll restart it. Thanks a lot though 🙂

      Like

Share your opinion because it matters here

